October 5

Where did the Food Pyramid go?

A guest teacher named Mrs. MacRae taught this morning in Portable 35. She will be teaching us about good nutrition on Wednesdays twice a month. She explained to the class that we no longer use the Food Pyramid to guide us in what we eat.. The Food Pyramid was not able to clearly show the difference between healthy foods and unhealthy foods. So, the White House decided to go with another version called My Plate. The New York Times newspaper explains this in more detail in an article they created last May. The article points out that the Food Pyramid was just too confusing.

Today we talked about the parts of My Plate. Below are pictures of these guidelines for nutrition. Which do you find easier to follow? Why?

The USDA's My Plate Icon

 

The USDA's Food Pyramid

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a picture I took today from an activity kids did in their food teams. Kids were to place their icons on the poster where they fit best. Do you think everyone placed theirs in the correct spots? Can you think of evidence that proves someone is correct, or incorrect?

Where do the pictures relate to My Plate?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Before I end this blog entry, you should check out the My Plate video I’ve embedded to find out the basics about this new program we’ll be learning in class. Enjoy!


Posted October 5, 2011 by magillbr in category Health, Nutrition

12 thoughts on “Where did the Food Pyramid go?

  1. Leslie

    Dear Mr. Magill,

    I like the Food Pyramid better because it shows you how much food or servings you need for your body, and My Plate only tells you the different food groups.

    Sincerely,
    Leslie

  2. magillbr (Post author)

    The Food Pyramid was a bit too complicated for some people. So, we now use My Plate. The Food Pyramid is still around but most people now look at My Plate to make good choices in terms of the food they eat.

  3. mohamed

    Dear Mr. Magill
    Why did the people change the food pyramid to the my plate, but it’s easier to read the my plate, the food pyramid is harder to read and understand.
    Mohamed

  4. Elena

    Dear Mr. Magill,
    I think my plate is a good idea, but I think the food pyramid is better because it shows some of the foods in the food groups. What do you think is better?
    Sincerely
    Elena

  5. magillbr (Post author)

    Elena,
    I agree. I like My Plate for its simple design. It helps to see how my plate should look at a meal.

  6. Jolie

    Mr. Magill
    I think the MyPlate is better because it shows the nutrients we need everyday.
    What do you think? Do you like MyPlate better or the Food Pyramid?
    And tell me why.
    Jolie

  7. magillbr (Post author)

    Jolie,
    I agree with you. I like My Plate more than the Food Pyramid. I think it’s easier to understand. You can get a better idea about which foods you need and how much.
    Mr. Magill

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *