October 17

Letter from Dr. Salina Brian

Here’s the letter I received last year from Dr.Salina Brian that I had mentioned previous to our work with the brine shrimp. Now that we have data for her, how should we present it to her?

9/25/10

Dear Mr. Magill,

As I told you in our conversation on the telephone, I’ve been studying the bird populations around Mono Lake. This is a lake in Northern California. The lake has been drying up and getting smaller. As a result, Mono Lake has become a salt lake. As the level of the lake falls, the concentration of salt, or salinity has increased. This environmental change might be affecting the organisms in the area. For instance, the lake has small organisms called brine shrimp. The birds that migrate to the lake depend on them. If the lake continues to get saltier, either because the lake is drying up or fresh water flowing into the lake is being reduced, the salty aquatic environment might have an effect on the shrimp.

I would be most grateful if your class chose to help me out on a research study. I’m trying to figure out if the salinity is an environmental factor that’s affecting the hatching of Mono Lake brine shrimp eggs. If so, I’ve sent you some brine shrimp eggs from Mono Lake to use for research.

Would your class be able to help to design an experiment that would contribute to my studies?

Sincerely,
Dr. Salina Brian


Posted October 17, 2011 by magillbr in category Environments

2 thoughts on “Letter from Dr. Salina Brian

  1. reilli

    Dear Mr.Magill,
    I really like the picture, I think it’s really cool. And I like the experiment, it’s really fun. I really hope we can find out how to help the brine shrimp and Dr. Brian. 🙂
    Your friend, Reilli

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *