December 12

Lessons In Molecular Science

Today we went to the library and Mrs. Priest shared with us an interesting topic, snowflakes. She showed us a book called “Snowflake Bentley.”

In this true story, by Jacqueline Briggs Martin, a boy named Wilson Bentley learns to photograph snowflakes. At the time this had never really been done. Wilson Bentley pioneered the work for capturing the unique image of a snowflake at a microscopic level. He became an expert at this and would make it his life’s work.

Recently students have been playing with the frost that builds up on the railings of our ramp which leads to our classroom. These are ice crystals. These crystals are very similar to those that form to make snowflakes. Some students have been asking about how the frost forms. Perhaps you might come to some conclusions by investigating more about snowflakes.

To learn more about snowflakes, check out the links in the post. Make sure to share what you learned by leaving a comment.


Posted December 12, 2011 by magillbr in category Snow

20 thoughts on “Lessons In Molecular Science

  1. Mr. Rodgers

    Hey Mr. Magill,

    Thanks for writing this post. Mrs. Priest shared this with our class as well. I loved the pictures of the snowflakes when they were magnified. Nature is so beautiful!

    Mr. Rodgers

  2. trevor

    Mr. Magill, I think snowflakes are really cool. Wilson Bentley must have a lot a patience to take over 1000 pictures and not get a single good one.

    Trevor

  3. mohamed

    Mr.Magill,
    I like this web site it teaches you about snowflakes.
    Could we go to this web site at brake time and play make your own snowflake?
    Sincerely, Mohamed

  4. Saya

    Dear Mr. Magill
    I can’t wait till winter is near. Do you know how you to say winter in Italian. I can teach you tomorrow!
    Saya

  5. Makenna

    Dear Mr. Magill,
    I think this post helps us alot. Here is a list of how:
    •It doesn’t make us try to find something snowflake related you just click our class blog, Lessons In Molecular Science,and the links.
    •It shows what we (as a class) have done.

    Makenna L.

  6. reilli

    Mr. Magill,
    I am so excited for camp next month. I just can’t wait to be outdoors, because it is so fun. I wonder what we are going to do there?
    Reilli

  7. magillbr (Post author)

    I totally agree Trevor. If it were me, I might have given up. I wonder what kept him going.

  8. reilli

    Dear Mr. Magill,
    I really liked making my own snowflakes on the computer, it was really fun. I think Wilson Bentley was a really cool guy. I think I might show my little brother Christopher that website, and I am sure he would love to learn how to make his own paper snowflake.
    Reilli

  9. jordan

    Dear Mr.Magill,
    I think it’s cool how out of millions of snowflakes every single one is different.

  10. gabe35

    Dear Mr. Magill
    I remember when it was snowing and a snowflake landed on my sweter and I saw how it looked from close, and it kind of looked like an actual crystal.
    Gabe

  11. jordan35

    Mr. Magill,
    I think snowflakes are really cool. Wilson Bentley must have a lot a patience to take over 1000 pictures and not get a single good one.

    Jordan

  12. magillbr (Post author)

    Jordan,
    I agree. He failed for an entire year. Then, he had to wait until the next winter to try again.
    Mr. Magill

  13. Dawn

    Mr. Magill,
    In fourth grade, Mrs. Priest showed us the same book, and I didn’t know there were different types of snowflakes!
    Dawn

  14. magillbr (Post author)

    Dawn,

    Great. Then, you must know lots about snowflakes. Today is a perfect day to be trying to catch snowflakes to examine them. It’s crazy that they’re all different.

    Mr. Magill

  15. magillbr (Post author)

    Endless,
    It all depends on whether or not we have a solid snow storm. We’ll see. Winter is almost over.
    Mr. Magill

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *